Moody's will host a webinar focusing on credit trends after the pandemic and rising importance of ESG in the CEE region.

Join senior Moody’s analysts, who will share their insights on the latest sovereign, banking and corporate credit developments and risks.


9:00 BST | 10:00 CEST

Welcome Address by Colin Ellis, Managing Director-Chief Credit Officer EMEA & Head of UK

9:10 BST | 10:10 CEST

CEE Sovereigns/Sub-Sovereigns: Relative stability despite remaining pandemic risks

  • The 2021 outlook for the region’s sovereigns is stable – but the pandemic still poses risks
  • Moody’s ESG Credit Impact scores highlight overall moderate ESG risks for CEE sovereigns
  • Exceptional liquidity levels and strong fundamentals of RLGs provide potential for easing of coronavirus effects

Petter Bryman, AssistantVice President – Analyst, Sovereign Risk Group

Gjorgji Josifov, Assistant Vice President – Analyst, Sub-SovereignGroup

09:35 BST | 10:35 CEST

CEE Corporates/Utilities: Rising ESG awareness in the post-pandemic world

  • General corporates/utilities outlook in 2021
  • Trends accelerated by the pandemic
  • Rising prominence of ESG in assessing the credit quality of corporate/utilities issuers

Martin Fujerik, Vice President – Senior Analyst, Corporate Finance Group

Céline Chérubin, Vice President – Senior Analyst, Infrastructure Finance Group

10:05 BST | 11:05 CEST

CEE Banks' Challenges amid the Pandemic

  • How resilient are CEE banks in weathering the COVID-19 crisis
  • Deep dive into Czech and Slovak banks’ exposure to commercial real estate
  • Progress towards meeting resolution capital requirements (MREL) during the phase-in period

Katja Reise, Assistant Vice President– Analyst, Financial Institutions Group

Maria Jose Mori, Vice President - Senior Credit Officer, Financial Institutions Group

10:35 BST | 11:35 CEST

CEE Covered Bonds: Limited issuance volumes, strengthened legal frameworks

  • Limited funding needs lead to low covered bond issuance volume  
  • Legal frameworks will be further strengthened by the European covered bond directive
  • Strong demand by EUR covered bond investors, in particular for green and social bonds

Martin Lenhard, Vice President – Senior Credit Officer, Structured Finance Group

Jane Soldera, Senior Vice President, Structured Finance Group

11:00 BST | 12:00 CEST

Closing Remarks

Moderator: Igor Ovčáčík, Country Manager CR, Vice President – Relationship Management CEE

Following the commencement of TRIM in 2016, there are has been a multi phased approach to the ECB’s TRIM exercise. As we are gearing up for a year of further TRIM exercises and transitioning to review of wholesale and low default portfolios, Moody’s would like to host this webinar to provide:

  1. Further insight to the challenges in the market thus far
  2. The common themes across Europe
  3. Remediation and best practice approaches

Following the commencement of TRIM in 2016, there are has been a multi phased approach to the ECB’s TRIM exercise. As we are gearing up for a year of further TRIM exercises and transitioning to review of wholesale and low default portfolios, Moody’s would like to host this webinar to provide:

  1. Further insight to the challenges in the market thus far
  2. The common themes across Europe
  3. Remediation and best practice approaches